Entry_02: Researching Stock Footage

Entry_02: Researching Stock Footage

The best and most challenging aspect of producing my short is the large amount stock footage that I need.

I am finding some cheap (royalty free) and free (public domain or creative commons) footage. I learned a lot about “CC” licensing for this project. It is really a neat idea. I suggest checking out this website for more info: http://creativecommons.org/.

I also find myself doing a little bit of pleading as well.

I spent one full day to visit the National Archive in College Park, Maryland to see what kind of Public Domain Footage I could dig up. Let me tell you – it is a gold mine. BUT you need to plan in advance – I would say six weeks in advance (which I didn’t do). Plus – there are strict guides to follow. A video camera is allowed once it is registered but you must also make sure to bring RCA cables with a BNC adapter if you plan to dub anything directly.

Don’t even get me started on Material License agreements!

Stay tuned for info on free music/sound fx…….

http://www.beckybeamer.com

Leave a Reply

